Monday, April 28, 2008


Marching along.

Thursday, April 24, 2008


and 10,000 franchise wins!

Wednesday, April 23, 2008


Cubs keep winning, 5 games in a row! Cardinals lost, so that bumps us down two more.

Off to Colorado...

Monday, April 21, 2008


Cubs Win! Cubs are beating more than just the Pirates by a significant margin.

Sunday, April 20, 2008


First place Cubs!


Can we play the Pirates some more please?

Saturday, April 19, 2008


Can we play the Pirates everyday?


Can we play the Pirates the rest of the year?

Friday, April 18, 2008


I didn't see the game, darn day games. Looked like it was close. Anyways, Cubs are moving the number down.

Thursday, April 17, 2008


Cubs lose the series finally, but Milwaukee beat the Cardinals (current NL Central leader). So, we go down to 149.

A nice 3 game series against the Pirates starts tomorrow. Let's hope we sweep them like we did last week.


Where can I get my "Dusty Failure" TShirt?

Go Cubbies, lighting up the offence.

Wednesday, April 16, 2008


Let's go Cubbies, beat those Dusty Reds! The weather is good at Wrigley and the Cubs offense lit up. Congrats Derosa, Lee and Theriot on your dingers!

Let's do it again tonight.

Monday, April 14, 2008


The Cardinals lost last night. Moves us down a notch.

Today's a day off for everyone in Central. Games return Tuesday night.

Sunday, April 13, 2008


Cubs Win! Cubs Win! Cubs Win! Way to do it again in extra innings. I believe that's the Cubs 4th extra innings engagement and we're 3-1. Keep it up!

TBS blows.

Friday, April 11, 2008


Milwaukee loses 2 in a row. Cubs have won 5 in a row. Keep it rolling Cubbies into Philly.

Thursday, April 10, 2008


Eric pee's in a parking lot. Relief!

Way to sweep cubbies!


Eric needs to pee bad. Edens construction is bad.

Wednesday, April 9, 2008


15 innings of fun. Cubs win, Brew crew lose. That drops the number by two tonightm

Sean Marshal's first save

4 Game Winning Streak!

Monday, April 7, 2008


3 in a row! 12 innings was enough. Cubs have the day off tomorrow. Perhaps the Cardinals and Brewers will lose one time.

Sunday, April 6, 2008


Kerry Wood is looking good. Back to .500!

Saturday, April 5, 2008


Way to rally over the Astros.

Thursday, April 3, 2008


Cubs win! Cubs win! Cubs win! It's about time.

How The Number Works

The Chicago Cubs Magic Number is derived by the following equation: Total Number of Games + 1 - Wins by the Cubs - Losses by Best Opponent.

The Magic Number is affected by one of two events, a Cubs win or the best opponent losing. The number is 163 at the beginning of the season. When the number hits 0, the Cubs have clinched the NL Central and are in the PLAYOFFS!

This site represents the Magic Number for clinching the National League Central Division . If the Wild Card becomes relevant for getting into the post season, this site may contain both. In that case, the Wild Card number will clearly be denote.

Shoot an email to with comments and suggestions. Also, drop a Cubs theme'd photo with a story. It may be posted during future number updates.

This is the year

This is the year
I will watch from just over the rail.